2013 District 15-5A Meet Results

January 28, 2013


YoungJae Hur – Swimmer of the Meet
Julie Zamora – Coach of the Year

The Swimming and Diving Team had an eventful District meet, where we placed 3rd in the Girls and Boys (Westlake & LT in Girls, WL and Bowie in Boys) due to a few major disappointments, but the team performed better than they have in years, and we had many incredible performances, and 7 District Champions. I’m really proud of our kids’ perfomances and behavior. 

YoungJae Hur won both the 200 IM (he set a NEW SCHOOL RECORD, previously set in 1998), and the 100 Breaststroke, and was named the Swimmer of the Meet– a first for Anderson since moving into 5A. The Swimmer of the Meet is determined by national time comparisons, and it is given to the fastest swimmer each year. YoungJae was racing tired and unrested, and he held off Westlake’s Zach Thomas in both races, which made this more impressive.

Josh Tomazin had incredible performances as well, surprising the field in the 100 Freestyle and winning with an awesome best time. He also placed second in the 50 Free with a great time.
 Tory Paranagua won the 50 Freestyle with a dominating performance, and placed 5th in the 100 Free. Tory also anchored the Girls 200 Freestyle Relay, who continued their area wide dominance and defended their sprint title for the 4th consecutive year.
Lyle Markman won the Boys Diving and was named District Diver of the Meet.
Sam Blount placed 2nd in the 100 Butterfly and Freshman Sarah Smith placed 3rd in the 50 Freestyle. The two teamed up with Tory and Szilvia Haide to win the 200 Free Relay with an incredible performance; you don’t often see the sprint relay win by 1/2 the pool. 🙂
 The Girls 400 Free Relay of Sam, Sarah, Kaitlyn Daniels, and Szilvia placed 3rd. The Boys 400 Free Relay of Josh, Matt Mahavier, Andre Kuhn, and YoungJae placed 2nd.
 Other team members placing in the top 6 and advancing to Regionals were:
Freshman Andre Kuhn, Freshman Abby Whitehead, Freshman Brandon Daniels, Delaney Raper, Reid Cline, Garrett VanderStoep, Robert King, Meredith Brown, and Blair Dixon.
Congratulations to Coach Julie Zamora for being named District Coach of the Year!
We had two boys relays disqualify for stroke violations most coaches couldn’t remember ever being called before. It was incredibly heartbreaking, and our boys lost their chance with team points. Ray Anthony and Jack Foster had incredible relay performances and will be attending Regionals as relay alternates.

Prelim Photos

Finals Photos

Previous post:

Next post: